Independence Day 2020: President to honor 84 heroes of the country


On the occasion of Independence Day, President Ram Nath Kovind will pay homage to 84 members of the security forces for their heroism. The list includes a Jammu and Kashmir constable, a Special Forces officer and an Indian Air Force pilot.

Among them, Jammu and Kashmir Police Chief Constable Abdul Rashid Kalas will be posthumously awarded the country’s second highest peacetime gallantry medal by the President.

In addition, 9 security personnel will be awarded the Shaurya Chakra for bravery. This honor is the third highest in the country in terms of heroism.
The recipients include Lieutenant Colonel Krishan Singh Rawat, Major Anil Urs Habildar Alok Kumar Dubey, Wing Commander Bishak Nair, DIG of Jammu and Kashmir Police Amit Kumar, CISF Sub-Inspector Mahabir Prasad Godara (posthumous), CISF Head Constable Erna Nayak (posthumous), CESF Constable Mahendra Kumar Paswan (posthumous) and CISF Constable Satish Prasad Kushwaha (posthumous).

Indian Global News
Symbolic Image: President will honor 84 heroes of the country on Independence Day 2020

Apart from these, five times Army Medal (Bravery), 60 Army Medal (Bravery), 4 Naval Medal (Bravery) and 5 Air Force Medal (Bravery) will be awarded for bravery.

Lieutenant Colonel Rawat will be awarded the Para Chakra for his bravery and leadership in a special operation near the Line of Control (LoC) in Jammu and Kashmir. In a 36-hour-long clash, security forces led by him killed four terrorists.

Major Urs led another such adventure in the area adjacent to the LoC, in which 5 terrorists were killed.

Habildar Dubey killed a notorious terrorist leader in a face-to-face clash during a counter-terrorism operation in Kashmir.