IPL 2020: Which stadiums will host the IPL this year? Learn more about their features


Key features of any field. Take a look.


The IPL did not start on time due to the outbreak of coronavirus. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) started scrutinizing the IPL after the T20 World Cup was postponed. However, realizing that it was not possible to host it in India, the idea of ​​holding a tournament in the United Arab Emirates began. In the end, it was decided that the IPL Mahayagna will start from September 19.

All the teams have already reached the desert town. All the eight teams have practiced hard to adapt to the new normal. This time the match will be played in three stadiums. Take a look at the details of the three stadiums –

Sheikh Zayed Stadium (Abu Dhabi)

20,000-seat stadium. The opening match of IPL will be played in this stadium. Multiple Test matches of Pakistan national team have also been played here. The boundaries of this field are a bit bigger than India. Matches of various international tournaments have also been organized.

Due to the Lok Sabha vote, seven matches were played in this stadium in the 2014 IPL. But chasing runs is not an easy task. The team that batted first has won four times. Chasing the run, he has won three times. However, Kings XI Punjab won by chasing 205 runs against Chennai Super Kings. One match went to Super Over.

Dubai International Cricket Stadium

The Dubai International Cricket Stadium is the largest of all the stadiums in the heart of the emirate. The number of seats is 25,000. This field is slightly smaller than Sheikh Zayed.

Sharjah Cricket Stadium

There was a time when this stadium was always full of international matches or bilateral series. Later, the number of matches was reduced due to the shadow of batting. This ground has always held a special place in the history of Indian cricket. Sachin Tendulkar’s storm in the 1998 tri-nation final against Australia still haunts Indian fans.

It is the smallest of the three stadiums. The number of seats is only 17,000. Sharjah also got a few matches in the 2014 IPL. A total of six matches were held. The highest score of IPL in Sharjah is 193. Kings XI Punjab scored that run twice. The team that chased a total of four runs in the IPL has won. The team that batted first won the other two times